Advice required! Photographing a children's performance at 2pm today!

Hi All,

I am a newbie to this forum. Hoping someone can help me before 2pm today! :)

I have a Nikon D90 camera and the lens that I plan to use today is a Nikon 28-300mm 1:3.5-5-5.6.

I managed to 'finally' stop using automatic about a year ago, but I seem to have lost my confidence and when put on the spot I panic and find myself flicking back to auto mode - which is very frustrating!

This afternoon I have been asked (as a favour) to photograph a stage school performance. There will be about 25 children - moving and dancing around. Not much natural light (if any as they will likely close the curtains). Stage lights will be used (so I am worried about yellow looking photos).

So... I know I will have to probably crank up my ISO - and will need a fast shutter speed (over 250?) to stop blurry photos - and I guess I need a highesh F stop (8f ?) to make sure everyone is in focus. I still struggle pulling this information all together (hoping it comes naturally to me one day! My problem with this situation is that I am worried with the above combination that my photos will be too dark unless I have a super high ISO - which will then result in grainy pics?

My other issue is that I am not sure how to focus my camera (which settings to use). I think that I should be using AF-C but I am used to shooting AF-S - it beeps when I lock focus and off I go. When I use AF-C it doesn't beep! Can some explain to me about the AF-area mode? Should I be using Dynamic area or auto area? I normally focus (using the middle focus point - push the shutter half down and then recompose)

I have actually read my manual (believe it or not) but this information just doesn't pull together for me easily!

If anyone can point me in the right direction so that I can come out with some half decent photos this afternoon I will be extremely grateful! Or if there are any good website / blogs explaining focussing.

Thank you!