Newbie here D3000?

jgraves1107

Ok bought it 2yrs ago for the wife and it just seems to be a pos. Got her a canon and she can get every shot perfect. I refuse to think it's the camera that's the issue here. Under exposed, over exposed, out of focus in focus. What is the best settings for the D3000 with the kit lens 18-55 or even 55-200? Manual all the way? I just refuse to give up! I know absolutely nothing when it comes to photography and no matter how much I read I am still confused. Someone did point out that the camera seemed to be autofocusing continuously, yet I really have not grasped the AF-S, AF-C, etc. The manual seems vague on this. What am I missing?

Horoscope Fish

Ok bought it 2yrs ago for the wife and it just seems to be a pos. Got her a canon and she can get every shot perfect. I refuse to think it's the camera that's the issue here. Under exposed, over exposed, out of focus in focus. What is the best settings for the D3000 with the kit lens 18-55 or even 55-200? Manual all the way? I just refuse to give up! I know absolutely nothing when it comes to photography and no matter how much I read I am still confused. Someone did point out that the camera seemed to be autofocusing continuously, yet I really have not grasped the AF-S, AF-C, etc. The manual seems vague on this. What am I missing?
I would suggest you do a full factory reset first. A full factory reset is more than just a settings reset, it will restore the camera body to a "just out of the box" condition. I would perform this reset and then do some test shots with the camera set to full Auto and see what that gets you.

If the camera is performing correctly then pursue a deeper understanding of the settings. Not much point, though, in doing that until you know the camera is in fact performing correctly.

To do a FULL FACTORY RESET: Full Factory Reset for Nikon DSLR's

jgraves1107