Cheers from Colorado

Celticman

I am a former teacher, beginning another career. Currently I am a Graphic Design student. I also hold a degree in Equine Science. I was a Camera salesman many years ago and am familiar with film cameras.
I just purchased a Nikon D800 and am trying to utilize it's great potential. My first Nikon was a Sears Tower Type III with a 50mm F2 lens. Sears was the very first importer of Nikon cameras to the U.S. after World War II. Nikon made exact copies of Leica cameras such as the Type III. I also have a Pentax MX that I still love.
I have four Nikon lenses for my D800. My favorite is the 105mm F2.8 IF micro. As a starter project this summer, I hope to roam through Rocky Mountain National Park and capture some of its beauty. I hope to post some images soon.

Watch72

Hi Celticman - Welcome to the Forum.
Looks like we have a few things in common.
I am also a film camera person and recently got myself the D800E.
You will love the D800 and the 105mm f/2.8 Micro.
I know because I have the same set up.;)
Looking forward to your pictures.

crycocyon

Sounds like you have some camera history behind you as well as a great new setup for exploring the world of photography. You're in a great state (Colorado) for nature photography so looking forward to seeing some pics. Here's hoping you guys get plenty of rain this summer. :)

Whiskeyman

Welcome, Celticman, to Nikonites. I hope you enjoy it here. I moved from Colorado Springs ten years ago this month. My whole family misses the place and the people we were close to there.

Unfortunately, my time there was not spent utilizing the wonderful landscape and scenery for photography. Friends and family who visited us there saw more of the place than we did.

That's a good reason for me to visit the place.

​WM

Celticman

Thanks for the welcome everyone! This seems like a great place to share and learn!