D100 arrived without body cap: best way to clean out any dust particles?

slickrock

I am totally new to this type of camera (D100). I stepped up from a Fujifilm S700 that I used for 8 years.

My new to me D100 arrived without a body cap (although it was inside a soft case). Before I install a lens, can someone give me a suggestion on how to make sure there isn't any dust or other particles on the mirrors?

Should I spray compressed air (like computer cleaner in a can) or is there a better, safer option because that seems a bit violent to the delicate workings inside the body?

Thanks, Dan

Whiskeyman

Should I spray compressed air (like computer cleaner in a can) or is there a better, safer option because that seems a bit violent to the delicate workings inside the body?

Thanks, Dan

NO! Don't use canned compressed air on photography equipment. There is too great a danger that you'll damage something. I know because I learned this the hard way.

Get a squeeze-bulb blower or take it to a shop that can clean it for you.

Rexer John

NO! Don't use canned compressed air on photography equipment.

Too right, that stuff will leave residue much worse than any dust.

That's not the best way to ship a camera body, makes you wonder about the people you bought it from.
Here's hoping the camera turns out to be a good one.
Or maybe you could just send it back.

How many shutter actuations has it got?
>>>CLICK HERE<<<

Dave_W

The Dude
Depending upon where you live and how close you are to a camera repair shop, you might want to consider having the sensor professionally cleaned and then as time goes by learn to clean it yourself. Chances are pretty good that your sensor is dirty from being left open and from being used and is in need of a good wet cleaning.

slickrock