Buy D800E and lens etc in China

stevebobb

Hi I am a Brit living in china at the moment, I am a beginner I am afraid, but for personal reasons I want to become a professional photographer asap (I have no choice at my age), anyway not go any further...... I want to buy the D800E and have seen at least 3-4 websites which seem to sell the camera very cheaply, and seem to be shall we say of dubious reputation,
So I have found a dealer in Beijing, who is selling this camera and a lens I would like to buy...
D800E $2408 and the lens I would like is the Nikon 105mm micro vr afs IF ED and that is selling for $732 prices are estimated due to currency conversion from Yuan to US Dollar...
I am hoping to visit the camera shop tomorrow morning and have a look.
Some of the things i would like to ask,
1st are these prices reasonable?
what dangers in buying from China do you know of?
e.g do i need to be aware of grey import in other words is it a copy? How can tell if the equipment are copies or second hand??
regarding the D800E i have read there has been problems with left side focussing etc!! Is there a way if i look at the serial number to check if its a fake etc??.
As a beginner into photography, my question is ,what about buying expensive lens, but as i say i don't want to mess around and regret buying cheaper equipment.. later down the line!!
Buying good new lens some people have said that they have kept the lens for years and years and to sell some of the lens you can get back almost, and sometimes even more what you paid for in the first place........Is this true or am i just being naive??
thank you for your kind advice and opinions..

Last edited:

gqtuazon

Gear Head
It is always a good practice to know what type of product support they offer in China just like if you were to buy a car.

At this point, there is no assurance that you'll have a trouble-free or non-defective camera if you will, with units sold overseas or in your homeland.