Lens

Maureen59

I am a relative newbie not only to the D3100 but to photography. I would like to ask about my lenses. I have a kit lens 18-55 and a 55-200. Also a 50mm D lens. I am off on holiday soon and want to take my camera but only 1 lens. Which one is a general all rounder. We are going hiking and hope to see a lot of nature. Thanks in advance for your advice.

​Maureen

jwstl

I am a relative newbie not only to the D3100 but to photography. I would like to ask about my lenses. I have a kit lens 18-55 and a 55-200. Also a 50mm D lens. I am off on holiday soon and want to take my camera but only 1 lens. Which one is a general all rounder. We are going hiking and hope to see a lot of nature. Thanks in advance for your advice.

​Maureen
I would take the 18-55. It's a wide angle to very slightly telephoto which is what you typically want for landscapes. If you are more concerned with photographing wildlife, birds etc. then take the 55-200.

§am

I second jwstl's advice.
The wider 18-55mm will give you the landscape pictures you want, but the 55-200mm will be better for wildlife.

The 50mm D won't autofocus on your D3100 by the way (in case you weren't aware)

theregsy

Just to be awkward I would go with the 55-200 as I have found you can always stitch multiple shots together to make a great landscape picture with software and have the zoom for wildlife. Or treat myself to an 18-300 sigma or similar so you have the best of all worlds.

​Have a nice holiday

jwstl

Just to be awkward I would go with the 55-200 as I have found you can always stitch multiple shots together to make a great landscape picture with software
But difficult to do if you aren't using a tripod and, if the OP is traveling so light as to not want to carry 2 lenses, I doubt carrying a tripod is desired.

theregsy

Nope, no tripod needed I always shoot freehand for this type of shooting when its outdoor and usually well lit then no I have no worries about shooting free.