Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX or Nikon 40mm f/2.8G AF-S DX Micro

JamesDean

Whats up everyone, I'm looking to get a prime lens to shoot customers products & interior shots(when im not using the wide angle). I was looking at the nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX. I was also looking at the 40mm micro to shoot flowers and such for fun, so my question is can I use the 40mm micro like a regular prime or only close up shots? or would I be better off buying both? Thanks in advanced and sorry if this is a basic question I'm still learning:tan:

Horoscope Fish

Whats up everyone, I'm looking to get a prime lens to shoot customers products & interior shots(when im not using the wide angle). I was looking at the nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX. I was also looking at the 40mm micro to shoot flowers and such for fun, so my question is can I use the 40mm micro like a regular prime or only close up shots? or would I be better off buying both? Thanks in advanced and sorry if this is a basic question I'm still learning.
You *could* use the 40mm Micro for macro work (it annoys me no end Nikon calls a macro lens "micro", by the way) but I find it hard to suggest for actual macro work, despite the name. Why?

Because with that short 40mm focal length you're going to find your front lens element fractions of an nch from your subject matter on a regular basis, blocking your ambient light and generally being a pain in the ass. Yes, I'm exaggerating slightly, but you get my point. For real macro work look at a lens in the 100mm range. Now, that being said, the 40mm Micro is an outstanding lens in its own right. The 35 f/1.8 is a little faster and a little wider and would be (read: "is") my choice, personally for an everyday lens; but I say that without taking anything away from the 40mm as a general-purpose, walk-around-town sort of lens as well. It's just the 35 is, in my opinion, everything the 40mm is and faster too boot.