Autofocus problems

jessh

Hi Guys

I'm brand new to photography so please bear with me!

I recently bought a D90 & bought the Nikon AF 50 mm f1.8 D to go with it. I'm having some problems using autofocus.

When I press the shutter down half way, it doesnt focus at all. The switch on the front of the camera is set to AF and the lens is locked to maximum aperture.

If I manually set the focus by twisting the lens and then press the shutter half way, it loses focus again & I'm really confused!

Any help much appreciated :)

Jess

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Your problem might come from your focusing settings. What are your focusing settings in the camera? How many focus points are there?

Try setting you focusing settings to only one point in the center and then you focus on your subject in the focusing target by pressing the shutter half way and then reframe your shot. Your focus setting has to be set at AF-S, NOT AF-C. AF-S means that you can focus and reframe and the camera won't be trying to change to focus.

It's all very well explained in the user's manual and I can't just find the right words to explain cause it's still too early for my brain to function properly... Haven't had my first coffee yet. :)

​Hope this helps a bit.

jessh

Rexer John - thanks for that , ive had a look but it's a little confusing. Should I have bought the 50mm 1.8 g?

thanks Alan - whoops! thats what I meant haha.. aperture is set to minimum of f22 :)

Marcel - my autofocus settings are set to AF area - Single point, Center focus point - wide zone. Where abouts in the settings can I ensure it is AF-S?

I'm sitting on the sofa and for example if i point the camera at the tv stand or the window sill where there are 2 cats sitting and some ornaments nothing at all is in focus, which is the same if I go up close to something, unless I twist the lens to get it to focus myself. I am very confused and feeling a little out of my depth!