Travel the world and get paid? Is it possible?

Watoh

Well.... myself and my wife have decide upon a life goal. To travel the world for an extend period. Something like 2 years, but who knowns how long once we get going!

The plan is to do this with 2 kids in a converted truck/bus or similar. Ideally we'd love to circumnavigate the world but at present the plan is in its infancy. We will unlikely go before 2017/18. So yes this is a 5 hear plan.

I plan to spend the next few years making this happen, I have not been so excited by a plan ever, simple as that, I'll be positioning myself in life in order to make it achievable. Obviously a large part of this is financial. The best way would be to be able to make money as i travel. It seems this is a path quite well trodden with photographers generating revenue with exotic images combined with travel writing from around the world, well that is the impression i get anyway.

I am somewhat fortunate that i am a independent web developer and have recently set up my own business and with present and future satellite internet availability i may well be able to continue doing business from some very weird and wonderful locations!

Obviously the reason for this thread is to explore, and get help doing so, how i can use my photography passion to make money.

I'd love some ideas, skills i should develop, contacts i should pursue etc etc over the next few years in order to be in a position to make this happen.

Thanks for any input. It will be greatly appreciated.

I will make this happen! :D

gqtuazon

Gear Head
Sounds like a good plan. Traveling via truck/bus will be limited to a certain continent. I thought it will be via cruise liner or something similar. Kids education will be somewhat different if this is going to happen.

AC016

I have read about many people doing this and a few families. Here is a link to one such family:

Family of Five Goes Around the World in a Trick Land Rover Defender 110 - Adventure Parents