Prime lens - 35mm vs 50mm and 1.4g vs 1.8g

goneddy

I am a beginner to DSLR photography and newby to this group. I recently bought a Nikon 7000 camera with 18-200 lens. That's all I have for moment. I have spoken to people and also researched a lot and been advised that everyone should have a prime lens in their camera bag. Would it be beneficial to have one? I have been looking at the 35mm 1.8g as feel 1.4g is far too expensive. Should I get a 50mm as well? If so, what is the difference between 1.4g and 1.8g. I understand that DX primes are magnified 1.5 x there making the 35mm the old 50mm and the 50mm a 75mm. Am totally confused here as to which one would be the better one to get or should I get both. I enjoy low light sunrise/sunset shots, close ups i.e. flowers, people and zoo animals and trying to venture into landscape. Currently no specific type yet. I hope some one can advise or help with which would be the best prime to get.

SkvLTD

Do you feel that you mostly shoot around 35mm (50) focal length/frame, fast moving objects, in fairly dark conditions? There's your real answer.

Also, older AI glass will be sharper, but almost full manual at a better price than modern, pro-grade primes.

Charlie

My advice would be to leave the 18-200 set at 35mm for a while and go through the range of photography you think you world like to do with a prime. Then do the same set at 50mm. You won't be able to do the low low light stuff, but you will have a much better idea after that which FL you will be happy with.

Lurch

If its worth anything to you; I just had a second-hand 50mm 1.8D arrive today. For the grand total of $70AU.
Gave it a quick test. It made me feel funny in my pants.
Fantastic lens.

gqtuazon

Gear Head
Gave it a quick test. It made me feel funny in my pants.

Bad visual. LOL! :D

The prime lenses will definitely lower your ISO (f1.8 vs 3.5 - 5.6) and better subject isolation. We are talking about ~ 2 to 3 stops difference.