How would I know its a Micro lens from title

SJD

I'm quite new to lenses, can someone please let me know if there is an indication on the "Lens Name" that states whether its a Micro lens or not ? Will the name always say that its "Micro" ? (I always look at Prime lenses and wonder whether its micro or not)

also how would i determine how much of magnification that it generates by reading the title of it (Eg : Nikon 105mm AF Micro).

What are the most important aspects to look at when buying one ?

SJD

Thanks... as i can figureout the zoom on telephoto, how can i know the magnification on Micro by looking at its description ?

Watoh

Well all lens have their stated focal length in their description in mm i.e AF Micro-NIKKOR 60mm f/2.8D. Relating that too zoom is a little more complex, if i'm not mistaken on a full frame camera 35mm is considered zero zoom, so I assume 70mm is x2 zoom etc etc.

The favoured Micro lens tend to be 60mm or 105mm.. above this get very expensive.

SJD

Thanks ... If I'm to get a really closeup picture of a bug. I suppose 105mm will give me higher magnification than the 60mm right ?

Are the Sigma or Tamron lenses fall far below the power of Nikkor or they are acceptable.

Rexer John

The longer the focal length, the further you can be from your subject. It has no bearing on how big the critter is in the viewfinder.
A true macro should be 1:1 meaning the size of the focused subject is the same size as the image projected onto your sensor.

Watoh

Thanks ... If I'm to get a really closeup picture of a bug. I suppose 105mm will give me higher magnification than the 60mm right ?

No.. but with a 105mm you can be further away from said bug, which is an advantage.