Pretzel's learning curve...

Pretzel

Backdoor Hippie style... It may not be 365, but I'll do my best. I'm a rookie just learning his new cam, so some things may be mundane, but what the heck?

1st, some yard adventures... A tiny yellow lady no bigger than my fingernail, so an attempt at a macro with some bokeh. D3100 with just the kit lens (probably should have used the tripod, but oh well).

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1366212735.555396.jpg

Pretzel

Another attempt at a close up on a flower, this one from a shaded area in the back yard, and a little faster shutter speed. (Followed by a random pic of a pooch who wanted to distract me from my editing) You can actually see more detail on this bloom, and the head of an ant making a successful photobomb. Same set up, D3100, kit lens, no tripod. Going to try to re-create these with a tripod next week.

FL4.jpg

Lucy.jpg

Pretzel

Nice shots. I tried to id the flower but no luck. Where are you located?

Thanks! I can still tell I'm a rookie comparing myself to others on this forum, but I do try!

As to where I'm from... Not South Florida! I wish! HA! (Although I visit Dad down there every couple of years)

I'm way up here in NE Oklahoma.

Pretzel

OK, a couple more bloom shots using the tripod AND a faster shutter speed. Also switched to the higher quality .jpg (fine) for my shots.

Well, the 1st one isn't a close-up, I just loved the pic... the 2nd one is a close-up. Couple more tomorrow.

Pretzel

Switching up from flowers a bit... how about my boy getting real close and personal with the squirrels, and my first attempt at capturing "running" water?

With a few sunflower seeds, it wasn't hard at all to get a nice close up shot or two...

...and here's one of my first attempts at "running" water.

Tomorrow? "Seeking the Great Spirit".

Pretzel

Here's a couple of different edits of the same photo. The 1st is just B&W, the second with a little off-focal blur. Can't decide which I like best.