which mid range DSLR to buy???

thistimeimperfect

Hello,
i have stuck by my trusty d40 for quite a while now, but it has finally given up on me. I would love if anyone has any suggestions for what dslr i should purchase next? I am studying photography at university, and i can spend up to £1000. Please help!

​Thanks!

fotojack

Nice budget to work with. I'd suggest getting a D7000 and some good glass (lenses) to go with it. Or, alternatively, get yourself a "previously enjoyed" D90 and some really good glass! The possibilities are almost endless. There are other cameras, of course, but those are the ones that come to mind. You have many to choose from with your budget.
Let us know what you finally decide on. :)

thistimeimperfect

thanks for the suggestion! would you recommend the d7000 over the d7100? i guess i dont need anything too fancy but as its for my degree the d7000 seems like a good choice!

SkvLTD

IF you can squeeze 7100 into your budget, I'd get that over 7000. You're looking for a new piece of hardware, so you might as well get the best you can afford.

Horoscope Fish

Hello,
i have stuck by my trusty d40 for quite a while now, but it has finally given up on me. I would love if anyone has any suggestions for what dslr i should purchase next? I am studying photography at university, and i can spend up to £1000. Please help!
I went from a D40 to a D5100 and I'm pretty damn happy about it. If I had it to do all over again, and assuming I had the scratch, I would have gotten a D7100. The 5100, though, I have to say, is a real "wolf in sheep's clothing"!

gqtuazon

Gear Head
thanks for the suggestion! would you recommend the d7000 over the d7100? i guess i dont need anything too fancy but as its for my degree the d7000 seems like a good choice!