Frustrated!

Rickysa

Quick history: 6-9 months ago, I decided to be the last person to make the jump into DSLR. Shot Nikons all my life. Researched as best I could, as I did not want to be limited by something the camera body couldn't do, but at the same time did not need to invest in the High-End Pro level, as I did not need the extra robustness/water-resistance etc. since I'm not a Pro.

Read up on over 34 bodies: Gen 1/Gen 2/High-End Pro/High-End Prosumer/Mid-Range/Upper Entry/Entry...and reviews on specific bodies...couldn't find anywhere that said "this body does this but doesn't do that". Kinda simple info I would have thought, but I'm an old dude any my google-fu is quite limited.

Opted for the 5100 and was very happy with it. Read numerous books in the meantime and decided to pony up for a speedlight...700 was available locally and snapped it up. Then I found out that Nikonians was hosting a Speedlight class nearby! Great, as I wanted to learn how to get the most out of my body/flash combo.

Well.....bummer. The class was super, but I learned the limitations of my camera wrt the Speedlight; no commander mode, limited shutter speed synch, etc...so I left midday, as my camera wouldn't do the things the instructor wanted us to practice.

Hence my question: anybody know of a source of the kind of info I'm looking for...or is it just "buy the most expensive body out there?:p

Krs_2007

The D7000 I have will do it and the new D7100 will also, I dont know about any other DX models that have commander mode. There might be other options available that will use both your 5100 and SB700, like an after market trigger, not sure.

AC016

Sounds like the speedlight was an after thought - you were not thinking about commander mode when looking into cameras. I am pretty sure that if you go onto the Nikon site and look at the specs of each camera, it will tell you which one has commander mode.

Nikon | Imaging Products | Specifications - Nikon D7100