New D3200 owner

wilbur-force

(Well i will be soon)

Wifey has bought me a d3200 for my birthday (end of April) and has told me to choose a couple of lenses as extras.... Lovely pressie :)

I'm new to DSLRs but keen to learn. I have the 18-55 lens it comes with but now I'm struggling to choose two more. I have previously been using a Panasonic fz1 which has served me well for a long time. This means I'm used to a reasonable amount of zoom. I also quite fancy playing with bokeh.

My shortlist then is this:

For zoom Nikon af-s dx 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6g ed vr

For bokeh
Either Nikon af-s Nikkor 50mm f/1.8g
Or
Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d

I believe out of the 50mm lenses the g model will have autofocus on the d3200 but the d model wont ? I believe the zoom lens will autofocus on the d3200 ?

Now bearing in mind I'm new to DSLR and a hobbyist does anyone have any thoughts about my choice above ? I do have a budget (ish) and I'm aware that these are probably entry level lenses......

I'm stretching to go for the 55-300 over the 55-200 .... Am i correct in doing so ?

Thanks in advance :)

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Last edited by a moderator:

RockyNH_RIP

(Well i will be soon)

Wifey has bought me a d3200 for my birthday (end of April) and has told me to choose a couple of lenses as extras.... Lovely pressie :)

I'm new to DSLRs but keen to learn. I have the 18-55 lens it comes with but now in struggling to choose two more. I have previously been using a Panasonic fz1 which has served me well for a long time. This means in used to a reasonable amount of zoom. I also quite fancy playing with bokeh.

My shortlist then is this:

For zoom Nikon af-s dx 55-300mm f/4.5-5.6g ed vr

For bokeh
Either Nikon af-s Nikkor 50mm f/1.8g
Or
Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm f/1.8d

I believe out of the 50mm lenses the g model will have autofocus on the d3200 but the d model wont ? I believe the zoom lens will autofocus on the d3200 ?