Which zoom lens on a budget??

iasha

I am looking for a zoom lens to go with my new d3100. I have a smallish budget but also since i am new to dslr's i cannot justify a big spend. two lenses i have seen ok ish, but which one?

first, 70-300 or 70-200. I would like the extra zoom of the 300 but have read that some lenses start to lose focus in the upper ranges.

second, tamron or sigma. nikon is too expensive for me so its the trade off. I know my limits/skill in photography and so a moe expensive lens will be for when i can get the most from them. If however these are thought to be useless then i will just save up to go with nikon.

third they both have af but not vr. how difficult is that with these lenses. I am also just learning about the dx with nikon, is that a real consideration. (can someone explain that please)

thanks

RockyNH_RIP

I am looking for a zoom lens to go with my new d3100. I have a smallish budget but also since i am new to dslr's i cannot justify a big spend. two lenses i have seen ok ish, but which one?

first, 70-300 or 70-200. I would like the extra zoom of the 300 but have read that some lenses start to lose focus in the upper ranges.

second, tamron or sigma. nikon is too expensive for me so its the trade off. I know my limits/skill in photography and so a moe expensive lens will be for when i can get the most from them. If however these are thought to be useless then i will just save up to go with nikon.

third they both have af but not vr. how difficult is that with these lenses. I am also just learning about the dx with nikon, is that a real consideration. (can someone explain that please)

thanks

I am not saying it is better etc... but I have the Nikon 55-300 (which is less than the 70-300) and I have been very pleased with it. If you look in my 365 thread you will see lots of birds etc taken with it, including some in flight. I think for a beginner on a budget, it is a good start.

Pat in NH

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod