SamSpade's 2013 Project 365

SamSpade1941

I really have gotten a late start, but life has been kind of crazy for me. I am hoping to get caught up, these are some shots from my D200 IR conversion that I purchased not too long ago. I am still learning about this so you will see my mistakes and my successes in these and I will be posting quite a few as I am fascinated by IR photography.

IR Nursing.jpg

IR Faith.jpg

IR Donkeys.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

SamSpade1941

Looks interesting, but the last two look a bit out of focus?

From what I have read IR can tend to have a "soft" look to it. I just shot one off of a tripod a bit ago which was a macro and it has a similar look.There is quite a bit of a learning curve here for me with this new medium. I am reading up on it. The potential is awesome if I can wrap my brain around it.

IR Macro.jpg

Last edited:

SamSpade1941

This is the same macro image I shot earlier except converted to "color" IR color is not true color so to speak as I am finding out really still its a neat effect if I ever get it mastered.

IR Color Macro.jpg

piperbarb

When I played around with IR film and would compare the image with that taken with "normal" B&W or color film, the IR prints always did seem a little softer. I think is because of the longer wavelength of light in the IR region vs the visible region. Also, keep in mind that the optics are optimized for the visible spectrum, not the IR spectrum.

SamSpade1941

That is a good point Barbara thanks so much, I have been reading and apparently shooting really slow f/stops will sharpen things up also so pretty much tripods are a must for this type of work. I am going to be experimenting a lot more. I was tickled to get the conversion and finally play with it. It is something I wanted to do for a long time.

crycocyon