New 3200 user and a couple of questions

vonm

Hi all, I just got my first DSLR, the D3200. So far I'm really impressed with the pics I've been able to take. I have a couple of questions I hope you can help me with.

First I have a question about the battery. I'd like to get a backup battery for the camera and was wondering if any of you have had experience with the some "no name" brands. Is there a huge difference in quality?

I will be shooting wedding pictures at an evening wedding indoors for a friend. I bought the 50 ml lens which is amazing, but I think that I should probably get a better flash. I've been experimenting with setting the ISO at 1600, even 3200 and the pics have been quite good, but I"m a little worried that maybe that's not good enough. I'm not a professional photographer so don't need anything top of the line. I just want a good flash that I can focus in different directions. Is it possible to get a good one for under $100? What suggestions do you have?
Thanks

Dave_W

The Dude
There's been a number of posts by people complaining about 3rd party batteries and almost no posts complaining about Nikon issued batteries so although I've never used a 3rd party battery, I suspect they're cheap for a reason.

Chances of getting a flash unit that will reach beyond 4 ft and under $100 is pretty slim. For someone on a tight budget but wanting to get really good photos, I'd suggest you look into an SB-600 or 700. The SB-400 will be attractive from a budget point of view but truth be told it's not that much more powerful than the built in flash unit.

Cowboybillybob1