Nikon D40 and SB-700 flash - remote

carguy

I'm studying up on off-camera flash use at Strobist.com and a few other resources.

Before I buy any gear, I'm playing with my settings tonight. I have a D40 and SB-700. While I understand the only way to fire it remotely is to use the D40 pop up flash to fire off the remote SB-700. While not the ideal setup, I'm trying to start at the bottom and work up :)

So far, I'm able to get the flash to fire after the following settings, am I on the right track?

On the D40:

Manual mode
Custom Settings > 14 Built In Flash > Manual > 1/32 power
Press side button to pop up the flash.

On the SB-700:
Slide on left side set to Manual
Dial on lower right set to REMOTE
Menu > Remote > SU-4

This appears to fire the flash remotely. I do notice a long time between cycles on the SB-700, maybe due to low batteries?

I'd appreciate any pointers with this setup as I learn.

WayneF

I'm studying up on off-camera flash use at Strobist.com and a few other resources.

Before I buy any gear, I'm playing with my settings tonight. I have a D40 and SB-700. While I understand the only way to fire it remotely is to use the D40 pop up flash to fire off the remote SB-700. While not the ideal setup, I'm trying to start at the bottom and work up :)

So far, I'm able to get the flash to fire after the following settings, am I on the right track?

On the D40:

Manual mode
Custom Settings > 14 Built In Flash > Manual > 1/32 power
Press side button to pop up the flash.

On the SB-700:
Slide on left side set to Manual
Dial on lower right set to REMOTE
Menu > Remote > SU-4

This appears to fire the flash remotely. I do notice a long time between cycles on the SB-700, maybe due to low batteries?