Opinions on lenses?

thenameislui

Hey guys hows it going!

I'm a college student and copped the D3200, currently holding the [h=1]Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX Lens and the Rokinon 8mm ultra wide F/ 3.5 Fisheye [/h][h=3][/h]i am wanting to get more lenses to expand the variety of photography i can do.
i want to have the equipment to do still frames, outdoor nature, sports photography, landscape etc

I currently reside in Albuquerque, NM and the landscape and outdoor photogrpahy is great here but im from california so in the summer i want to be able to capture beach life and that sort of nature

so far i have these lenses in mind and i would appreciate any feedback that can be given with personal experience with these lens or if you have any other thoughts about other lens too!

AF-S 24-70mm F/2.8 G ED
AF-S 85 mm F/1.4g
Sigma 150-500mm f/ 5-6.3 DG OS HSM APO Nikon-F
AF-S Nikkor 70-200mm f/2.8G ED VR II

Thanks!

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Instead of the 24-70 and 85 1.4, just get the 50 and 85 1.8 G. With the money saved you can buy the Sigma...

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Marcel i was thinking about an upgrade soon, im between the D800 and D7100 any thoughts on that?

Speaking for myself, I'm trying to stay away from upgrades for now. Did I say for now… :) The main question you should ask yourself is "How big do I want to print". And even then, 12mp and 16mp cameras are more than enough for 24-36 prints. If you're planning to have a studio and sell your work, then get the best lenses you can afford and a D700. When the money flows, then you can get whatever you can afford.

The thing is, invest in lenses and just plan to upgrade bodies once a while. And try to use them as much as you can, don't upgrade just because it seems fashionable. Nikon is great for that with their multiple sensor sizes and pro vs amateur bodies.

thenameislui