Cropping FX to DX

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
Contributor
Since I am new to upgrading to an FX camera (D600 from a D90), is it better to shoot in full frame and crop the image in post production or use the DX crop mode feature in camera? Will one yield a larger file and/or a better final image than the other especially if enlarged? Thanks for any help! :)

Dave_W

The Dude
Hmmm...that's an interesting question. I'm thinking it's a wash between the two so it'll be interesting to see what others think about this.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Depending on who you ask, opinions will vary. The main advantage of FX is low light high iso performance. As far as enlargements, let's say that it all depends. If you remove 25% of a 24mp D600 files, you'll end up with less than if you use the full 24mp or a D7100.

Cropping will reduce your ability to enlarge whatever format of camera you use. How large are you hoping to enlarge on a regular basis? This is what you should answer first.

BackdoorArts

The D600 will yield a smaller file in DX mode (~10MP's) that the D90 (12MPs). Unless I'm using a DX lens on the D600 I would take advantage of the full sensor and try and frame the image best I can in FX mode and then crop if necessary. With a DX lens you may still be able to use more of the sensor than the autocrop allows, so override the autoswap to DX mode and see how much more of the sensor you can cover (the rest will be black) and go with that.

Rick M