New to DSLR - Shooting in Aperture Mode

totcamry

I have a D7000 and it came with a nikkor 18-105 f3.5 - 5.6 lens. I am totally new to DSLR and I want to learn to shoot bokeh. I mostly want to take pictures of my 16 month old. I am confused because when I am at 105 mm the aperture is at 5.6. It changes automatically when I zoom. I thought that by having it in A mode, I would be in control and by being at 105 mm, I could be at 3.5. So, is there any way to change this?

Eye-level

Banned
On the 105 side your aperture is going to be 5.6 which is good enough for limited bokeh...the key is to get a lot of distance between your subject and the background. You need a fast 85 prime and it will serve you well from 16 months on out until the child has children of their own... :)

Last edited:

Horoscope Fish

I thought that by having it in A mode, I would be in control and by being at 105 mm, I could be at 3.5. So, is there any way to change this?
In "A"perture Priority mode you are in control of the aperture; but only to the degree the lens allows it and at 105mm you can't have it both ways. Meaning you can't that much zoom AND and a big aperture (at least not without paying BIG bucks). You can have 3.5 at 18mm but as your level of zoom increases, so does your aperture. This is one of the many tradeoffs we learn to deal with as photographers.

Photo Joe

Not sure what your budget is now that you picked up the D7000 kit, but it might not hurt to buy a 50mm 1.8d ($100 or less) to help with provide nice shallow depth of field. I think it would serve you well as you start out taking pics of the little one.

crycocyon

I agree with Joe, you need a more bokelicious lens. :D The lens you have just isn't suited to isolating subjects against a perfectly out-of-focus background because of the relatively small maximum aperture (which based on the lens design is 5.6 at 105 mm).

LouCioccio