D800 video discussion

crycocyon

I couldn't find a video section here, so I thought I would start a thread discussing D800 in a video rather than still capacity. If anyone uses the D800 for video or has a nice vid rig they'd like to show please do! I just got the Rode pro mic and after an initial test it certainly has nice pickup compared to the built-in mic. The beginnings of a vid rig. :D And I'm just a beginner so this is more for me to learn from videographers that have some experience with the D800.

TDD800wRodepro.jpgTDD800wRodeproL.jpg

Ruidoso Bill

Video was one of the reasons I bought the D800, I do web sites and had a need for some home page "Welcome" messages, haven't put it in to practice yet but hope to soon. I have mic envy.

capitaltpt

I got the D800, in part, due to it's video capabilities as well. Waiting for the next bonus check from work before I start building a rig however. I'll post pics when I can. Nice to have a thread to discuss DSLR video. I think they should ad one to the main boards.

gqtuazon

Gear Head
I couldn't find a video section here, so I thought I would start a thread discussing D800 in a video rather than still capacity. If anyone uses the D800 for video or has a nice vid rig they'd like to show please do! I just got the Rode pro mic and after an initial test it certainly has nice pickup compared to the built-in mic. The beginnings of a vid rig. :D And I'm just a beginner so this is more for me to learn from videographers that have some experience with the D800.

I've shared this image before but this is what my set-up usually looks like using a Manfrotto 701HD fluid video head for smoother panning. Nikon ME-1 doesn't need a AAA or AA battery, so that's a plus for me.

D800E video rig by gqtuazon, on Flickr

crycocyon