Lens for D3100

mrborgie13

Hi guys Im a beginner with dlsr camera and i've heard a lot about the new nikon d3100 " which is not available yet in store " so my question is what lens shoud i buy ? pls help !

Joseph Bautsch

Re: Dslr camera

Hi and welcome to the Nikonites Community. The D3100 is a very good camera. For a beginner in DSLR photography there will be something of a learning curve. But that is what Nikonites is for. The people here are friendly and ready to answer your questions regarding the use of your camera and lenses. For a beginners lens I would recommend what is known as a "walk around". Something you can use in a lot of different shooting situations. The camera will probably be offered in a kit which will include a lens. Usually these lenses are the Nikon 18-55mm VRII or the 18-105mm VRII. These are good starter lenses to learn on. Not the best but also not expensive. As you learn more about DSLR shooting and what style of photography you like best then you can go for the better glass. Glass that will complement your style of photography.

Eduard

Super Mod
Staff member
Super Mod

Hi Mr. Borgie and welcome to the site. Joseph gave you great advice regarding getting started. Do you take pictures now? If so, what kind of camera are you using? Have you used an SLR or D-SLR before? Let us know a bit more about yourself and the group will certainly try to help.

mrborgie13

thanks a lot ! im very happy that i've found this nikonites website where people are very helpful and nice so once this camera is available i will buy it and start shooting
especially for this coming fall. so once again thanks a lot !

Last edited:

goz63