Greetings from Indiana

johnwartjr

Long time listener, first time caller....

I'm John, from Indiana.

Back in the 90s, I worked for my Dad's photography business here in Southern Indiana, and was the Head Photographer at my High School. I had a blast running the darkroom.

When I graduated, I had 2 directions I could go - IT and Photography. I had experience with both, and enjoyed both. I decided to go full steam ahead with IT, and have done pretty well in that endeavor. I've worked in the enterprise for over 10 years at this point, holding positions where I administered several hundred servers. In my current role, I work as part of a team that supports several thousand servers around the world.

I gradually abandoned photography, and really lost interest when digital picked up steam. While I loved computers, I couldn't grasp the idea of a computer being my darkroom - the darkroom was the part of photography that I enjoyed the most. The serenity, the smells, the sounds, the cold damp atmosphere where you could sit and think, all the while turning out some awesome prints.

Photography took a back burner and became more utilitarian to me than a form of art. Digital was great, if I wanted a quick photo of an item I was selling on eBay, or to take a couple snapshots of something, but I still lacked the desire to do much more than resize images on my PC.

Eventually, the IT thing got to me, and I got to the point where I didn't want to work on computers all night after working on them all day at work, and I bought my first DSLR, a Nikon D60, with an 18-55 lens, and I bought a 55-200 lens to go with it as well.

I started to enjoy taking pictures of my kids, parades, car shows, landscapes, really pretty much everything and anything.