D3200 AF inconsistency

Oscariotrix

Hi all, from this newbie here!

Having tried with all 4 modes of AutoFocus on my D3200, I am realising that AF isn't very reliable or stable in Nikon dSLRs, or am I doing something wrong?!

First, I used the Single-Point AF mode, based in the center of the image; Things work well while you're landscaping, but gets tricky on moving subjects...

Then, I changed to Dynamic Area AF mode; Being center-wheighed, it suffers the same issues of the previous mode, perhaps with "polished corners"...

So I gave the 3D-Tracking mode a spin, and I am realising ~ when portraying my well-behaved(!) and standing kids that I often get blurry subjects against a very sharp background... It looks that this 3D mode isn't that much a 3D thing after all...

Ultimately, I changed it to Auto-Area AF mode, which still gives me the same issues of the previous 3D mode, also gives me the same headaches of the first two modes, although I end up losing a lot less of nice pictures than with the other AF modes.

So I decided to start studying the issue; I even went to the lenghts of testing my camera AF with this article, having found no errors at all.

So this is where I can be dealing with a user error, and your experient thoughts and ideas are now very welcome....

Thanks.
:)

AC016

AF-S: for stationary subjects
AF-C: for moving subjects

You may also want to dive into your manual to learn more about the AF modes. Good luck

NFA Fabrication

...I am realising that AF isn't very reliable or stable in Nikon dSLRs...

I wouldn't be so quick to discount Nikon as the issue. I understand getting frustrated, but bashing Nikon around here won't get you far! Auto-focus isn't magic, moving subjects against a stationary background is beyond a difficult thing for an autofocus system to deal with, but you will get much better results with a better understanding of the different modes, and when to use what.