RockyNH 1st portrait attempt!

RockyNH_RIP

Well, it was a learning experience... :cool: and I had fun, so thats half the battle....
Gear available...
2 light stands with umbrella's...
1 SB 700
1 Yongnuo 560 II Manual speedlight
Obiously my camera, D5100 and for today I had the 35mm f/1.8 on as I was doing several different things today..
Background - Black bed sheet (also had a white sheet but did not use today)
Model - My patient and understanding wife (not sure how much more if there are more days like today!)
Tripod - Available but did not use today...

Ok, I had no clue... so as a baseline... I shot with the pop up flash... (Left)
Then a single flash on 1/2 power with umbrella at 45/45 (SB-700)
It took a couple trys with aperture to adjust as I stopped down too much, then opened 1/2 way back. (right photo)

DSC_4582.jpg DSC_4588.jpg

Then I started playing with a reflector for fill. I used an 18 x 24 white poster board. It was a bit awkward as I had no good way to position it. I ended up holding it, or my wife did awkward at best.... Best success was up close and just in front of me and slightly to her left. (with me holding and shooting one hand.

DSC_4594.jpg DSC_4595.jpg

We then took a 2nd speedlight and played around with it as fill. Used the Yougnuo at 1/8 power bare. Light was harsh and too direct, even set for wide and could not get all shadows, making some worse. I had also experienced some issues with getting a decent catchlight through the wifes glasses.. made a final adjust to the key light (a little lower and more towards the camera (more in front of model). Added the umbrella to the fill and it was all good... filled the shadows just fine (still 1/8). Only took 3 shots and we had to break down for dinner so I did not get to fine tune the lighting... BUT, it is getting there! For the very 1st try, I was pleased with all I learned!

DSC_4623.jpg DSC_4624.jpg