Yongnuo 560 ii issues with D700. NEED HELP!!

logan

Hey everyone, I am obviously new here and I need some help. I recently bought a Yongnuo 560 ii (NOT the EX) and I can't get it to fire when it is in the hot shoe of my D700. (It works fine when triggered by the on-camera flash: slave mode.) I tried researching if this is a common issue, or any issue at all, but every search returned a flood of "Nikon D700 hot shoe issues" and little more. I am not ruling out an issue with the hot shoe, but it seems the big issue with the hot shoe is random firing.

Admittedly, I am a novice when it comes to flash setup- I was primarily a natural light shooter- and that is why I am asking. When I purchased this flash it was clearly marked in its description "...for Nikon and Canon." I have used Nikon flashes with no issues before, so I am stumped...

I am adding pictures below of the current settings on the camera. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Info Breakdown:
-Nikon D700
-Yongnuo 560 ii (NOT EX)
-Flash not firing from hot shoe
photo.jpgphoto(1).jpg

logan

The modes are about the only thing that could affect this, right? The modes are: M (master), S1 (slave), S2 (slave for pre-flash), and Multi.
There really isn't much to look at, but here it is:

photo.jpg

RockyNH_RIP

The modes are about the only thing that could affect this, right? The modes are: M (master), S1 (slave), S2 (slave for pre-flash), and Multi.
There really isn't much to look at, but here it is:

View attachment 28742

The 1st thing is.. Modes.. M is for Manual, NOT master.. It is NOT a TTL flash, it is a manual only flash.

What Mode are you using???

On my 5100, it fires from the Hotshoe but in manual mode only and does NOT work with the camera in Auto... I have to manually set the camera, thats why I have a SB-700 for On camera and only use the 560 Off camera.

I think the 468 II is the one that will workj in auto and is about $35 to $40 more.

Pat in NH

logan