Learn D90

nikond90

Hello everyone im new just signed up today. 2011 christmas i purchased a d90 havent used it since only my wife uses it. she recently purchased a sony mirroless camera 5R. and nikon is sitting there i need a hobbbie so i decided to learn photography. the reason i never used d90 it looked very confusing and hard to learn but now i want to learn it and use it. i have 2 lenses for it 18-105 and 50mm 1.8G lens. on may we are going on roadtrip to vegas, La, Disneyland, Grand Canyon.i want to learn as much possible by then to try take better pics than her :) lol. so where should i start? i dont want to use auto. where can i learn? i have no knowledge of what shutter is or iso but i know what aperature is :) any help or direction would be much appreciared. Thanks

BackdoorArts

Welcome to the world of digital SLR photography. The D90 is a great little camera.

There's a lot of not knowing in your paragraph up there. The good news is that the internet is full of information that will close those gaps. You just need to take the time to pick through it. There are great tutorials to be found on YouTube and blogs aplenty. The trick is finding one that works for you. Some will tempt you with a little information and then ask you to buy more. Spend the time digging and save your money for lenses.

That said, a good guide to your camera is essential in the learning process, because there's lots it can do that you'll never figure out on your own. Darrell Young has a book called "Mastering the D90". I have his "Mastering the D7000" and it is a superb walk through the camera's functions - like having someone teaching you what the manual was supposed to but they just didn't use real words. It won't teach you photography, but it'll help with the camera end.

Mike150

Welcome Nikond90.
Have you tried asking your wife to show you the basics? If she's like my wife, she knows everything.