future new nikon owner

MojojoJay

Hi, I'm planning to buy Nikon SLR next week and I don't know what model to choose :confused:
I'm a beginner and planning to enroll in basic photography.
Is choosing an advance model important? or it just depends on its lens to capture a great photo?

Thanks!

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Start with a model you can afford and that will leave you some money to get a prime (non-zoom) lens. There will be a learning curve that you'll have to steer through, and, depending on the time you set away to learn and practice, you'll start getting better pictures. Don't expect to become a master in the first week.

If money is a important factor, consider buying a model that has recently been replaced. They are usually interesting as the dealers want to get the newer models to sell more and there is sometimes not that much quality difference when you look at the final picture. The more expensive models could help you print larger pictures, but they need to be fairly large to really see the quality difference. When you get better, you'll probably know what to buy. Don't even think that this will be your last camera… :)

Welcome to Nikonites.

stmv

budget

Lowest budget -> D70, D50
lower budget -> D80, D90
modest budget -> 3200 or 5100
Mid range budget -> 5200 or 7000

never get too hang up,, these cameras resell pretty good down the road or make great backups.

MojojoJay

budget

Lowest budget -> D70, D50
lower budget -> D80, D90
modest budget -> 3200 or 5100
Mid range budget -> 5200 or 7000

never get too hang up,, these cameras resell pretty good down the road or make great backups.

I'm thinkin of choosing between 3200 or 5100. . which is better?

MojojoJay