Where Should My Priority On Glass Purchase Be For Automotive Photography?

NFA Fabrication

I am fairly new to photography in general, and recently purchased a Nikon D3200 kit with 18-55mm, and have also purchased a 55-200mm, and a 35mm 1.8. A lot of my pictures will be automotive, basically what a person doing car shows would use (Will not be doing a ton of car shows, mostly pictures of custom cars that I personally own, or have worked on). I see my 35mm getting the most use so far.

Also, I see a lot of talk about filters when shooting cars, particularly to deal with automotive glass/glare, etc. What filters should I purchase for this? Any links on this would be appreciated! I am new to this, but this is my personal car that convinced me it was time to step out of point and shoot...(Not particularly clean here, it is actually my daily driver...)

m3qpx.jpg

Eye-level

Banned
Your shooting DX so the 35 is all you really need...and the CP filter of course...maybe a cool flash...

Now I think maybe the 28 would be the really cool glass to have to do cars. And if your shooting FX? I think the same thing the 28 (or the 35).

You might add a 60 macro for the detail shots...

That is what I would use but that is just me...

RockyNH_RIP

John has already addressed filters.. regarding Lenses... You have a good start.. I see most of your car shooting to be covered by the set you have. The 35 Prime will give you excellent quality and also max control on DOF. Your 18-55 is good if you need a wider view...

I would use what you have and after a couple of shoots, ask yourself then what you need! When you tell yourself too many times you wished you had XX, then you will know... at some point, you may see an 18-105 as a benefit if it covers your entire shooting range for a show with one lens.

You will know that yourself after shooting a couple. Good luck and share your work when you can!

Pat in NH

NFA Fabrication