What camera to buy? 3100 or 3200?

jen_storm

Hi

I am a complete novice, having only used compact cameras.

I am looking to buy a Nikon camera. My budget is more aimed at a 3100 or 3200 as I need to buy photo software and possibly buy an extra lense/speedlight flash.

I plan to use this camera to teach myself how to become a professional one day (if I get good enough).

I have to move quite often due to my husbands job so I hoping to one day make money from photography on the side as a extra income. I am interested in newborn baby shots/portraits. I also like taking landscape photos and photos of my dogs.

I am unsure which camera to buy and I am getting confused with some reviews I have read.

I have heard that the larger the sensor, the better the camera - therefore should I go for 3200 over the 3100?

I do not have the intention at this time to print very large prints, however this could be an option one day. Therefore I am not sure I require 24mp, however I guess it would not harm to have a camera that offers this incase I do.

I have seen something about the 3100 and 3200 not having autobracketing and this being a negative thing - what is this? When would you have to use this as I am not sure if I would prefer a camera with this option if it is a really positive thing?

The price difference I have found is approx £90 between the 3100 and 3200.

I have no idea about these cameras so if any one can help and explain in a way a complete novice can understand, I would be most grateful.

Many Thanks

Jen xx

AC016

Here is a quick comparison of the two cameras:

Nikon D3200 vs D3100 - Our Analysis