Need DSLR Suggestions

shaunposton

Hi,
I am fairly new to photography but have a well enough understanding that I have outgrown my current camera. I am looking to upgrade pretty soon and need some suggestions on which route to go. I am looking at a budget of about $1200. I have been researching a lot of the Nikon DSLRs and cannot come to a conclusion on which would be better to suit my needs as each one has unique qualities. I shoot primarily HDR Landscapes and seascapes. I was looking at the d7000 because of all the features it has but then came across the newer d5200 which offers much higher resolution with the 24.1 MP but doesnt have quite as many features. Being a newbie I'm not real sure that I really need all the extra features anyway. Supposedly, the d5200 has slightly better picture quality. Not sure about the AEB vs the d7000 though as the specs say 3 frames at 1/3 or 1/2 ev but doesnt give a +/- value. Being that I shoot primarily HDR this will be the feature I use the most and can't find much info on the AEB capabilities of the d5200. But I'm just trying to get some feedback from more advanced photographers or people that have had this dilema in the past. Should I go with the more advanced model or no? Any suggestions as to what I should do here would be greatly appreciated.

JDFlood

I would go for D7000, unless you are willing the wait until about summer when shipping should start of the yet to be announced D7100 (rumored and likely). The 7000 line is intended as the next level above the 5000 and will be present throughout the camera. The extra pixels are not sufficient to be worth the loss. Most people agree that anything above 10mg is not going to be visible in today's environment. JD

Last edited:

JDFlood