Upgrade to D7000??

Cowboybillybob1

I am a bit of a newbie to photography albeit a quick learner and currently own a D3200. It's a great camera but there are some features that I would like to have access to. Bracketing and Commander Mode being two of the biggest. There are loads of other features I would like to try out as well.

Since the D7200 will probably come out in a few months the price of the D7000 is very appetizing. The only real concern I have is the pixels and Expeed 2 instead of the D3200 24 and Expeed 3. I don't print more than 8x10 but often close crop.

Any thoughts on this as an upgrade at an excellent price?

Thanks for your comments.

Last edited:

AC016

You close crop... How much do you crop? If you are cropping so much that you are going to worry about pixelation, you need to get closer to the subject or use the proper lens. Therefore, you may want to think about investing in another lens maybe? If you can get closer to the subject without having to crop so much, all the better for your wallet. Aside from that, if you have your eye on the D7000, go for it!

Cowboybillybob1

Well I pulled the trigger and I just got home with it. I'm charging the battery right now so I'll have to wait about an hour and 1/2 before I can use it but based on looks and feel so far so good. Can't wait to try out new features for me.
Will post a pic when I get it up and running.

Cowboybillybob1

That was a quick decision :)
I have been thinking of an upgrade for a while. The choices were D5200, D7000, or wait for D7200.
The price of the D7000 was a factor. I figured the D7200 would be out of my price range/budget and the D5200 did not have all the important features I wanted.

Going through the manual as the battery charges and I think I made the right choice. The next step would be an FX format but that's many years down the road. I figure the D7000 will last a long time before it becomes obsolete or I outgrow it.