One of my First Pictures with My New Nikon - Grandaughter

John Dingman

I am new to digital Photography and any advice for a better shot would be greatly appreciated. I did not have my speedlight yet so the onboard flash was used.

Mom's 75th Birthday 044.JPG

Thanks!
John

PS I realize this is not even in the same league with the others posted here, I am trying to learn better photography.

Last edited:

fotojack

Nicely composed shot, John. Just needs a little brightening up and a little contrast. Otherwise, nice shot. :) Lots to learn....be patient....it will come in time. :)

John Dingman

fotojack,

You are way too kind. After viewing some of the other photos on here I tried to delete my post due to my sheer embarrassment of posting it beside these wonderful portraits.

John

fotojack

No need to delete the post, John. Think of every shot you post as a learning step. You're not the only one that learns from posted shots. Everyone can learn from everyone else's shots....good or bad.

And about being too kind; yeah, I know. It's a fault I have to live with. ;)

Moab Man

John, I am a newbie around here too. Don't hold back sharing photos. The people here are extremely helpful and so much can be learned by looking at how others have composed their shots and what the settings were that they used. Then try to copy what they did. Additionally, I seem to learn a lot from just being in these guys presence.

One other thing, if you like a particular shot ask how they did it.

welcome

snaphappy

I'm a fellow newbie! Everyone is very helpful and the critiques in these posts has been very enlightening for me so go ahead and post because there is knowledge in both positive and negative opinions. I look forward to looking back at my posts and hope to see (alot of) growth perhaps you could do the same. Lovely picture by the way :p

RockyNH_RIP

fotojack,