Which 70(80)-200 2.8 lens?

SAbbott

I am trying to shoot more sports and am looking at getting a used tele zoom lens. Obviously I need a 2.8 maximum aperture. I am a college student putting myself through school so price point is very important. Do you guys have any advice? Are there real advantages between the one-touch and two-touch? Is buying Nikon brand going to make a huge difference vs. Tamron or other 3rd party? I read that VR isn't important when shooting sports, is that true? Any advice or comments would be appreciated

pedroj

I have the 80-200mm D lens...I shoot surfing, motoX and car racing with it...I do use a tripod because of the length of time...

SAbbott

Is it the twist or push-pull? I read some people complaining of the lens "creeping" because of the push-pull mechanism. That was the lens that I was looking at, what do you think is a good price for a used one in good condition?

Last edited:

pedroj

"Twist"I haven't used the push/pull type...I read some where they suck dust in...

I've just looked on ebay... like mine The cheapest I saw was $580..

New they can be bought here in Aus for $960..

Last edited:

Pierro

I read that VR isn't important when shooting sports, is that true?

Very true - VR has to settle first, so is too slow for fast action. Its only good, more or less, for single shot static subjects where you have no tripod and perhaps the shutter speed is not as fast as you would like to stop your own hand held motion causing blur. VR doesn't stop blur in action shots

Last edited:

Puzz1e

Banned
Yeah VR only an issue if you are hand holding.

If price point is an issue, have you considered the Sigma 70-200 OS?

Last edited:

Drew Wat