piliff

hi all, newbie here, looking to improve and learn how to use my new camera, d3100, i am reading a couple of books on this camera now, but its hard to understand all the jargon one minuite it makes sense then next it baffles me so much, any tips very welcome please :eek:

Rick M

Welcome! Try out each feature as you read about it. It will all make sense eventually, shooting is the best way to learn. Learning from mistakes is ok and feel free to ask questions here!

Cowboybillybob1

Since lighting is at least 75% of a good photo understanding exposure is essential.
There are three main aspects of "proper" exposure that I like to view as a triangle with each one of these elements a different point of the triangle. You can't change the angle (increase or decrease) without the other two angles being affected.
1. ISO - This is the sensitivity to light your camera is. The higher the ISO the more sensitive to light it is. There is a trade off though. High ISO will cause your pic to be too grainy. If this were not true you could take a good shot in near darkness by just bumping up the ISO a lot. Theoretically you could do that but your pics would look awful.
2. Shutter speed - The slower the shutter speed the more light you let in. Too short... say less than 1/60th of a second and it will be blurry due to the shaking of your hand. You can use a tripod to make it more steady so that your shutter is open 30 seconds. Not always convenient to carry a tripod around with you. A faster shutter speed will freeze a moving subject like in a sports photo.
3. Aperture - This is how large or small the opening of the lens is. A large aperture is actually a lower f#. A large opening (smaller f#) the more light you let in. This also affects Depth of Field (DOF). DOF is how deep your shot is in focus. It looks nice when the background,or foreground, of a portrait is out of focus (Bokeh). A large f stop (smaller f #) will give you a shallow DOF.