DX 35mm quality vs 18-55 DX kit lens set at 35mm

Rexer John

Hi guys, newbie here so hi to you all before I jump in :D

I've read and seen sample pics on the 35mm DX lens, it seems to perform best (sharpness of central focus area) at around f4

With the kit zoom lens set to 35mm and f5, it does a fine job with central focus and bokeh, so the question is how do the two resulting images compare in image quality at similar settings?

A pic comparison at similar settings would be awesome but I'm not expecting too much as this is my first post.
Many thanks for reading my question.

____________________________________-

D5100 one week old, my first DSLR and loving my new toy.

Rick M

Welcome to the site. I've owned both of those lenses and they are both great in their own right. The 35mm 1.8g will perform slightly better, because as a prime it is optimized for that focal length (usually the case with most primes). The big advantage is the fact that it goes down to f1.8, which will be great in low light and have better Bokeh. Hopefully someone will follow with pics!

Last edited by a moderator:

Rexer John

Thanks Rick, the 18-55 seems to give sharpest eye focus at 35mm. It definitely loses some as you move towards either end, although still a very nice pic.

The 35mm prime will be on my shopping list at some point, but I'm learning to use what I've got first.

I'm thinking of leaving it at 35mm for a while so I have to use my feet and get used to better composition rather than constantly zooming. I'll miss the lower f numbers but best to learn a bit with what I have first.
In the old film days I loved my 50mm prime so I know I'll end up getting the 35mm DX at some time.

Last edited by a moderator:

WhiteLight

Re: COMPARISON - DX 35mm vs 18-55 DX kit lens set at 35mm

Well here are the comparison pics...
I've always wanted to check out the difference, but never got around to doing it...
Since you posted it, thought of giving it a go...

20130125-DSC_6221.jpg