How to capture a fast moving subject with no blur? Thanks

IanUK

I am new to owning a DSLR camera and have the D3200 with the supplied lens 18-55mm.
I would like to take sharp pictures of my dog when he is running. Many of the pictures I take are blurred, can you tell me the best setting I can use please.
The Auto setting doesn't always get it right.

Thanks
Ian

IanUK

That's a good idea, i'll find an example. I save the pictures as jpeg's, will this format retain the exif information?
I did try Auto but still got blurred results. Which setting on the selector wheel would be best, I've tried experimenting but I wasn't getting any conclusive results.
I'll find a good example of a blurred picture and post it up.
Cheers
Ian

IanUK

Here is a good example of the blur. The dog is moving & I would have liked to get a nice clear freeze frame of him.
Snow Dog Jan2013 (21).JPG

Scott Murray

Ian have you read the manual? It will tell you what mode to use when. A = Aperture which is good for static or slow moving objects. S = Shutter which is great for sports or what setting that you need to set a desired shutter speed. ISO for sports means >400 ISO imho. You can get motion blur which acts favourably with the subject when you experiment. Which is what I suggest. Digital is very free so play around with your settings, see what you get. Practice does make perfect and it can be fun.

IanUK

I can't remember if I used the flash, possibly not. I have read the booklet but I'm still finding my way. I've booked into an evening class to help me understand how to use a DSLR.

Thanks for your time this morning ... from a frosty UK.
Cheers
Ian

Scott Murray

Its evening here in Aus ;). And I would say up ISO to atleast 400 > 800 shutter speed should also be double that of your lens. roughly. Actually make that around 1500 and you should be close.

IanUK