Newb Question: Polarized filter and macro lenses??? Which ones should I get?

Liz S.

I am very new to photography. So I may get my photography vocab wrong at times! Forgive me? (And correct me if you want, as I am trying to learn.)

With that said, I have a D3100, with an AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G lens and an AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm 1:4-5.6G ED.

I am interested in buying a polarized filter for my lenses. The one I am looking at is a used one on B&H Photography website. It is a Nikon 77mm Circular Polarizer Glass Filter Used Nikon 77mm Circular Polarizer Glass Filter 2468 B&H Photo

My question is, should I get the circular or linear? And - I have heard there is a version II...should I get that instead? I'm shooting from the hip here, any advice is helpful. I want to take awesome pics at Lake Tahoe and on the snow and sunsets...will this filter help me?

AND my last question....how do I tell if a lens will work with my D3100? Specifically a Sigma ZoomTelephoto 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro Autofocus Lens Used Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG Macro Autofocus 508306 B&H
[h=1][/h]I like to take pictures of plants, bugs, and rocks up close. That is why I want a macro lens. This one is the cheapest I have found, which is great but also cause for concern and caution. Is it for a film Nikon? Or is it for a camera like mine? Does anyone have experience with Sigma lenses? Will I waste my money? I am a newb after all...so I figure cheap is better while I learn.

Whew. Sorry for the long winded post. I just discovered this website and am elated at the possibility of finding some advice from like-minded individuals!

Liz

TedG954

Lenses for your D3100 will be designated as DX.

The correct filter size for your existing lenses is 52mm, not 77mm. And you want a Circular Polarizing Filter, not a linear filter.

Used B+W 52mm Warm Circular Polarizer Skylight 65-015026 B&H