Sunpak DF3000

ABN Panzer

I've read multiple reviews from multiple sources and now come to you for your wisdom and advice.
I'm looking at getting an external flash for my D5100.

I'm looking at the Sunpak DF3000 ($49.99)

I am looking for something that will perform better than the flash on the camera that still allows me to pivot/bounce and play with lighting... I am no expert by any means.

I know there are better flashes out there but I know my limitations... $$ being one of them.

Is there anything particularly bad about this flash that I should avoid? Reasons I shouldnt get it?

I appreciate anything you could offer.

**Note: I did search the sight for anything that might have been previously mentioned about this Flash but did not find anything.

Just-Clayton

My first flash was a Sunpak PZ42X. I still use it. The biggest difference I saw between the sunpak and my sb700 was the slide base is plastic on the sunpak. I try to put it on slowly as not to try and force it on. So far it's lasted me over a year. I use it to trigger my sb700 also. As long as you get your money out of it I would try it.

Just-Clayton

I was comparing the specs on both mine and your model and mine had a farther reach and I can adjust the strength of the output. It depends on what your looking for.

RockyNH_RIP

I've read multiple reviews from multiple sources and now come to you for your wisdom and advice.
I'm looking at getting an external flash for my D5100.

I'm looking at the Sunpak DF3000 ($49.99)

I am looking for something that will perform better than the flash on the camera that still allows me to pivot/bounce and play with lighting... I am no expert by any means.

I know there are better flashes out there but I know my limitations... $$ being one of them.

Is there anything particularly bad about this flash that I should avoid? Reasons I shouldnt get it?

I appreciate anything you could offer.