club photography and flashing lights

Erin Blair

I'm a club photographer. Doing it professionally is fairly new for me but I do have experience. I've been having problems taking pictures in one particular club that I will be shooting at every week. The problem is that it's completely dark (no house lights on, ever) the only light sources are the LED lights that trail all over the room very fast and large strobe lights positioned in every corner.
It's so dark that I am forced to use auto focus because I can't see the subject with my eyes (view finder is totally dark). The focus does a good job finding the subject that I want but refuses to release the shutter because of the flashing lights.
My little trick that I resort to is to let it auto focus, then, with my other hand I switch the lens switch to manual and hope the subject doesn't move too much or that I'm fast enough. I've actually gotten fairly fast at it and am having some luck.
I guess the problem is that it is quite a carnival trick and by the end of the night all my fingers are sore. I feel like there should be an easier way. I feel like i'm missing something. Is there a trick that I've over looked? Tips? Tricks?
I appreciate your feedback. Thank you in advance.

Marcel

Happily retired
Staff member
Super Mod
Are you using flash? What focal lenght?

I used to do this kind of shooting in another life long before auto focus. I was using a 35mm lens, a strong flash that gave me about f8 for an aperture and just tried to guess the distance between me and the subjects. With the f8, I was able to get enough depth of field to get the shots. Now if you are trying to use téléphoto (70-200), I don't think I can help.

Good luck.

AC016