Camera Recommendations?

JudicialFury

Hey guys! I'm quite new to cameras, but I've been interested in photograpy since I was a small child. I'm wanting to purchase my first DSLR camera, and I'm torn between the Nikon D3000 and the Canon Rebel T1i. I know they're not new, but I'm planning on purchasing an older used camera due to my $300-or-lower budget. Which is better and why? Would you recommend any other cameras that fit my criteria? Really appreciate the help!

-Grey

Dave_W

The Dude
Before we can even begin to recommend a camera, we would need to know what you intend to do with it and what you want to get out of having a camera. Purpose and intent can narrow down your choices pretty quickly. That said, here at the Nikonites site you can rest assured our recommendation will be some kind of Nikon camera since few of us know the Canon lineup very well.

Oh, and welcome to the Nikonites board. :)

Eye-level

Banned
Actually the Nikon D5000 is the equivalent of the T1i and is available at KEH for the price you have said. I have a D5000 and I have used a T1i on several occasions. Both are very similar cameras neither one better than the other probably. Probably the one advantage the D5000 has is that one can use any F mount lens ever made for it. The T1i cannot use say a 1971 model FD Canon lens. So what does that really mean? You can get a heckuva lot more lenses for the Nikon then the Canon and some of the old Nikon lenses can be had for peanuts.

stmv

well,, Nikon haha,, both are fine cameras, but the folks here have already done their deciding,, and we decided NIKON,, so,, too prejudiced to say otherwise.

Nikon allows more historical old gear to be re-used,, which is awesome.

pedroj