First experiments with D7500 Built-In HDR - Comments? Suggestions?

pnomanikon

(Disclaimer: I am a recreational photographer, and realize my photos are not "professional grade". )

I have been experimenting with the built-in HDR in my D-7500. I'm gradually getting the hang of it, and even saved it as my U1 User Setting so I can access it quickly.

Some of the shots have been on the tripod, but I experimented with leaning on a tree or fencepost and handholding if there was plenty of sunlight.

On my first day of experimenting, I made a couple of "comparison" photos to see the difference in Auto mode with matrix metering compared to HDR Normal and one with HRD High setting.

HDR COMPARE 1sm.jpg
I think the Normal HDR mode worked well here to bring out the dark areas. This was resting the camera on my knee while kneeling.

HDR COMPARE 2sm.jpg
Tripod shot here. I thought this view from my back patio would test the limits of HDR because of the contrast. The Normal HDR mode brought out the darker areas nicely but I think the grass is still too bright. The High HDR mode brought the grass down to a nicer level, but the shrub and woods are a little too bright for me. I prefer the Normal Mode.

We recently took a few trips to leaf-peep and tried the following photos:

DSC_1468sm.jpg
Mozer, WV - This barn photo also had a lot of contrast. (Tripod) This was Normal HDR setting, and I'm happy with the result. With Auto Mode and Matrix, the sides of the barn were black. (Again, I am a recreational photographer and don't plan to submit this to National Geographic. LOL)

DSC_1554sm.jpg
Seneca Rocks WV. Hand-held with nothing to rest against, and was the only photo out of 6 that wasn't too blurry. With Auto Mode and Matrix, the shadows around the footbridge in the foreground were almost black. This was Normal HDR setting.

DSC_1632sm.jpg