+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Pierro's Avatar

    400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Just in case anyone still reads this section despite no posts since Sep 2011

    Just purchased a TC301 for my 400 / f.35 Ai, and set to Manual + Ap priority, i get F32 in the display, and the aperture ring does not change it.
    I have the NON CPU data entered in the menu for this lens, and also have Aperture Ring set in the menu I guess i'm not doing something, but cant figure out what.?

    Just going to add this... Mounting the lens without the TC, the correct aperture ( F3.5 ) shows in the display. As stated, the lens FL and max ap have been correctly entered in the Non CPU data Menu. No problem there - moving the aperture ring changes what aperture is displayed.
    Soon as the TC is mounted, I get F32 in the display and nothing will change it.

    Just for curiosity, I went to the Non CPU data menu and changed this to 800mm F7 ( actually it was F7.1 ) , as these are the correct figures with a 2x TC. But all this did was just change the displayed aperture as F64, and still unable to change aperture using the Ap ring. So that didnt help at all


    › See More: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems
    Last edited by Pierro; 02-08-2012 at 04:47 PM.
    Pete
    RSPB supporting member & Dogs Trust supporting member
    D300 + 70-210 f4 AF + 35-105 AF macro + 105 Ais + 20mm Ais + Manfrotto & Giottos


    Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank. Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone





  2. #2
    Senior Member
    fotojack's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    From what I gather from what you've described here, it seems to me that the problem isn't with the camera but with the 40mm AI lens. I'm thinking that the TC301 isn't compatible with the lens. The lens alone will work with the camera as you have it set up, but the problem seems to be with the TC301 AND the lens mounted together. Did you check with Nikon on the compatibility of this combination? I suspect this could be the issue here. Perhaps others may have a differing opinion.
    Jack

    We guarantee quick answers....no matter how long it takes!

    The floggings will continue until morale improves!
    *************************************************
    D300
    D2Xs
    All Nikkor lenses except where stated otherwise:
    35 1.8/ 50 1.8/ 18-105/ 18-55/70-300/ Tokina AT-X Pro SD 11-16 F2.8 (IF) DX
    Tamron AF 28-75 2.8

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Pierro's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Thanks Jack - yes i did my research in some depth before the purchase. This is a compatible combo according to many Pro reviewers. I'm stumped on this completely.

    My lens doesnt even reach F32 on its own , only F22. It seems ( complete guess ) that a coupling lever in the TC is not connecting with the lens and /or the body. I dont know which or even if thats the problem. But something's amiss, as the aperture ring on the lens should change the aperture reading in the display, but it does nothing. Thats why i'm thinking its a coupling rpoblem
    Pete
    RSPB supporting member & Dogs Trust supporting member
    D300 + 70-210 f4 AF + 35-105 AF macro + 105 Ais + 20mm Ais + Manfrotto & Giottos


    Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank. Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone



  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Pierro's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Ok, a quick test with the TC mounted to the lens , but without mounting to the body at all. Looking through the combo of TC and Lens, the aperture ring works fine. So the problem only presents itself when the TC/Lens is mounted on the camera. It suggests that something ( one of the prongs / levers ) is not engaging where it should ? Just a guess - i'm not good at the workings and mechanics of lenses and bodies
    Pete
    RSPB supporting member & Dogs Trust supporting member
    D300 + 70-210 f4 AF + 35-105 AF macro + 105 Ais + 20mm Ais + Manfrotto & Giottos


    Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank. Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone



  5. #5
    Senior Member
    fotojack's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    OK......just a thought here.......what if you went straight Manual mode and no Ap priority....see if that works. Other than that, you may be right about it not engaging properly. Hopefully the TC has a warranty and you can get it repaired.
    Jack

    We guarantee quick answers....no matter how long it takes!

    The floggings will continue until morale improves!
    *************************************************
    D300
    D2Xs
    All Nikkor lenses except where stated otherwise:
    35 1.8/ 50 1.8/ 18-105/ 18-55/70-300/ Tokina AT-X Pro SD 11-16 F2.8 (IF) DX
    Tamron AF 28-75 2.8

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Pierro's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems
    I'll try full manual Jack and see if that changes anything. Although this shouldnt be the case. I've read many articles by famed pro Nikon guys and this TC has been documented to work in M and A as a minimum.

    No warranty i'm afraid. It was a used Ebay purchase, though i can get my money back, but i cant leave it too long

    I've noticed one of the ( indexing levers ?? ) on the rear of the TC ( body mount side ) levers is unsprung, the others have a spring tension to them that make them return to position, but this one, the largest, flops around and is totally unsprung. I dont know if this is normal or not

    Pete
    RSPB supporting member & Dogs Trust supporting member
    D300 + 70-210 f4 AF + 35-105 AF macro + 105 Ais + 20mm Ais + Manfrotto & Giottos


    Give a poor man a gun and he can rob a bank. Give a poor man a bank and he can rob everyone



  7. #7
    Senior Member
    fotojack's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Unsprung lever....hmmmm...doesn't sound good to me, mate. Let me guess...you got this for a really good price? Perhaps this is why he was selling it in the first place. Just a thought. Any chance of looking at a brand new one to compare?

    Do you have any good Nikon repair facilities near you? This still might be fixable.
    Jack

    We guarantee quick answers....no matter how long it takes!

    The floggings will continue until morale improves!
    *************************************************
    D300
    D2Xs
    All Nikkor lenses except where stated otherwise:
    35 1.8/ 50 1.8/ 18-105/ 18-55/70-300/ Tokina AT-X Pro SD 11-16 F2.8 (IF) DX
    Tamron AF 28-75 2.8

  8. #8
    Happy to be Canadian
    Super Mod
    Marcel's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Maybe it's the lens spring that will put tension on that lever. I remember reading that there is a mounting order. Not sure if you have to mount the lens to the extender and then the extender to the body or the other way around. Try that for fun and let us know if it does change something. I remember while on vacation I had the same kind of problem with an extension tube. And it was the mounting order that I hadn't done right.
    Last edited by fotojack; 02-08-2012 at 10:59 PM.
    Thanks/Like Pierro Thanks/liked this post
     
    I'm beginning to see the LIGHT!
    Please visit my Gallery and my Flickr Gallery

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    fotojack's Avatar

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    Pierro, I don't know if you have this, but it's something I found that may be of some help or interest to you.


    Operation
    Connecting Lens and Teleconverter Position the lens in the Teleconverter's bayonet mount so that the aperture index on the lens is aligned with the lens mounting index on the teleconverter; then while holding the aperture ring of the lens, turn the lens counterclockwise until it click-stops into position. To remove: While depressing the lens release button on the teleconverter and holding the aperture ring of the lens, turn the teleconverter clockwise until it comes off.

    Mounting on the Camera Body Position the lens/teleconverter assembly in the camera's bayonet mount so that the camera mounting index on the teleconverter is aligned with the lens mounting index on the camera body; then while holding the aperture ring of the lens or the teleconverter, turn the lens/teleconverter assembly counterclockwise until it click-stops into position. When mounting on a camera with a meter coupling lever (Ai-type), make sure that the camera's meter coupling lever is correctly positioned; when mounting on a camera without this lever (non-Ai-type), "manual" maximum aperture indexing is required. In both cases, refer to the respective camera!s instruction manual.

    To remove: While depressing the lens release button on the camera body and holding the aperture ring of the lens or the teleconverter, turn the lens/teleconverter assembly clockwise until it comes off.
    Thanks/Like Pierro Thanks/liked this post
     
    Jack

    We guarantee quick answers....no matter how long it takes!

    The floggings will continue until morale improves!
    *************************************************
    D300
    D2Xs
    All Nikkor lenses except where stated otherwise:
    35 1.8/ 50 1.8/ 18-105/ 18-55/70-300/ Tokina AT-X Pro SD 11-16 F2.8 (IF) DX
    Tamron AF 28-75 2.8

  10. #10
    Senior Member

    Re: 400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems

    400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems
    Quote Originally Posted by Pierro View Post
    I've noticed one of the ( indexing levers ?? ) on the rear of the TC ( body mount side ) levers is unsprung, the others have a spring tension to them that make them return to position, but this one, the largest, flops around and is totally unsprung. I dont know if this is normal or not

    The lever that you have pointed out is the lens speed indexing post (3 in the image below). This lever will flop around when the teleconverter is not mounted to a lens. It is a transfer bar type lever that is positioned by mating to the corresponding lever on the lens. Digital bodies such as the D2 series rely on the meter coupling ridge (4 in the image below) for metering with non-CPU lenses . On an Ai lens this ridge turns as the aperture is changed; this ridge is fixed on a teleconverter and does not turn with the the aperture ring on the lens. This is why the aperture setting is not functioning on the D2. There is nothing wrong, just the D2 lacks the coupling (lens speed indexing post) to determine the aperture as set on the lens.

    400mm f3.5 + TC301 on D2X - problems-tcreferencemap.gif
    Last edited by LensWork; 02-09-2012 at 12:36 PM.
    Thanks/Like Pierro Thanks/liked this post
     





Quick Reply Quick Reply

If you are already a member, please login above before posting.

Similar Threads

  1. D300/D300s
  2. General Compact Digital Cameras
  3. General Compact Digital Cameras
  4. D50
  5. D3000/D5000

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •