Should I buy Nikon 55-200mm VR lens?

weebee

I don't use mine much anymore now that I have a 55-300mm. But it is a good lenses and the price is right if it is good condition.

john*thomas

Get it. I have the 55-200 also as it was almost a no brainer starting out for the price. I bought mine used also. Now that I've used it awhile with no real complaints I'm leaning towards a 18-200 maybe but if I do I can sell this one for as much or nearly what I paid for it.

MeSess

Well, I waited to purchase the 55-200mm VR because I ended up selling my D60 for $200 and buying a used but new D3200 (shutter count around 200) for $300 instead. The same guy is also willing to sell me a Lowepro Slingshot 102 AW and a 55-200mm VR brand new for $90 dollars. I think I should take that.

carguy

So I'm just starting out with photography and I bought a Nikon D60 and a 18-55mm VR kit lens. I recently came across the 55-200mm VR lens for $70 and I was wondering if this would be worth picking up for that price?
If it's in nice shape, $70 is a great deal. I bought a 55-200mm new years ago to compliment my 18-55. If I did it over again, I would have gone with a 70-300.

That is paying retail or used prices however, if that 55-200 is nice, grab it :)

carguy

Well, I waited to purchase the 55-200mm VR because I ended up selling my D60 for $200 and buying a used but new D3200 (shutter count around 200) for $300 instead. The same guy is also willing to sell me a Lowepro Slingshot 102 AW and a 55-200mm VR brand new for $90 dollars. I think I should take that.
Yep, as stated in the other thread, jump on that deal.

Brightsparks

I have this lens and yes its a great day to day lens from 55 up to 200 and at that price well worth picking up i was sorely tempted by a 70-300mm VR lens, but the price was simply to high to justify. So, i ended up getting one of these instead - and it's possibly my favourite lens at the moment

MeSess