Lens Diffraction

Eyelight

@J-see I think you went running full tilt past the point. I could have posted without the EXIF, but figured it would be useful to the discussion.

If you go back and look at the two images in post #13 with no other numbers or thinking. Just look at the images. Is one image better than the other?

ETA: Actually better is too subjective. Does one image show more detail than the other?

Last edited:

J-see

Lenses go down in quality the more you close down. You'll lose more quality closing down than blowing up in photoshop. That's the digital age.

When I started shooting digital I carried with me knowledge of the past. I used to do this and that for these and those reasons. It worked in the past so it evidently should work now. It didn't turn out that way.

I only started to get ahead after I realised that I should forget everything I knew and temporarily ignore everything prescribed and start from scratch.

There are only three things of importance:

What are the limitations of my hardware?
What are the limitations of my software?
What are my limitations in working with both?

That's all that matters now and the decades of knowledge old people, me included, carry along has for a large part become completely irrelevant. Whether we like that or not. We can carry on as we did in the past but it won't be to our benefit.

Or we accept there is constant change and we change with it.

J-see

@J-see I think you went running full tilt past the point. I could have posted without the EXIF, but figured it would be useful to the discussion.

If you go back and look at the two images in post #13 with no other numbers or thinking. Just look at the images. Is one image better than the other?

ETA: Actually better is too subjective. Does one image show more detail than the other?