can't choose between a canon or a nikon

snehs123

Hi! i'm planning to buy a digital slr soon, but i can't choose between a canon or a nikon. i'm not a pro photographer--purely amateur, my current camera is the Canon G10, and it works fine, shoots almost like an slr, but i want the real thing. i can't decide between the two brands since i love canon, but based on some pictures i've seen, i like how nikon processes pictures. also, i kind of want a semi-pro/pro slr. or at least one that shoots like one, one that can of course, top my g10 (my g10 has 14.7 mp)

Attachments

• 1409334371089.jpg
    1409334371089.jpg
    168.4 KB · Views: 39

co2jae

I am an amateur at best and I just upgraded from a canon point and shoot to a Nikon D7000. (big jump, I know). Anyway, I think the D7000 could be the last camera I ever buy because it is so technical. I have spent hours reading the manual and researching online and this camera is so easy to use despite its initial intimidation to me. After reading a lot of blogs, reviews etc I think the Nikon are mor for the purists and technically oriented shooters while the Canons are more user friendly for "sophisticated" point and shooters. Of course this is only opinion and I'm sure once you get above the D 7000 price point, any camera is going to be technically advanced. If megapixels is what you like,I believe the canons are higher per price.

Rick M

When I was deciding which to go with, I went to a store which had both on display and liked the feel of the Nikon better. The canon kit lens felt cheaper to me, not a very technical assesment, but I think I made the right decision. Of course we will all be recommending Nikon here, you may want to look at lenses you may want down the road to decide the best fit. Price and optical ranges vary and that is were you may spend most of your money down the road.

fotojack